What is a Phase?
A Phase is a grouping of Tasks, that in turn make up a Project as a whole. Phases can be used to break up your Projects into smaller, more easily tracked segments, consisting of small groups of related and linked Tasks. When creating a new Phase, you can define it’s title, description, due date, and assigned Tasks. Once a Phase has been created, Tasks can be assigned and unassigned from a Phase freely.
To create a new Phase, simply navigate to Projects > [Manage Project] > Phases, and click the + Add Phase button.
This will display a form in the right side-pane, with several fields to fill out.
This will be the name of the Phase, which will be displayed in various places throughout the installation. All users who are able to view a Phase will be able to see the title.
This will be the description of the Phase, which will be displayed in various places throughout the installation. All users who are able to view a Phase will be able to see the description.
Use this field to communicate a desired due date for the Phase. A Phase due date will not affect the due date of the individual Tasks that are assigned to a Phase, but it will help to have a “goal post” to work towards for each Phase. All users who are able to view a Phase will be able to see the due date.
Once a Phase has been created, you will be able to manage it’s assigned Tasks, along with other details, using the Options dropdown.
Viewing a Phase allows you to get a quick look at it’s details in the right side-pane, including the assigned tasks, due date, etc. You can use this option when you simply want to verify a detail about a Phase.
Editing a Phase allows you to modify all of the original Phase settings and details, including it’s title, description, and due date.
You can assign/unassign the Tasks inside a particular Phase using the “Manage Tasks” option. This option will bring up a grid of Tasks in this right-side pane, allowing you to check/uncheck Tasks to change their assignment to a particular Phase.
Deleting a Phase will completely remove it from the app. There is no undo for this action, so you will want to make absolutely certain you want to delete a Phase before confirming this action.