Translations (beta)

Can I translate the platform into another language?

Yes, you can! Using our Translations Toolkit, you can translate the text of the platform into any language.

But that's not all the Translations Toolkit can do. You can also use it to change specific terminology to better fit the needs of your business. For example, you can use Cases instead of Projects, or Subjects instead of Contacts. You have the power to rewrite practically any text in the platform, right down to the most obscure error message.

Right now our Translations tool is in beta, which means it has not yet reached its fullest potential. But don't worry - our team is constantly working behind-the-scenes with the goal of giving you the power to change every single shred of text.

We now offer Language Sets that you can choose to translate the entire platform at the click of a button! You can then tweak any of the strings to your liking.


How do I use Translations?

IMPORTANT: Words that you see in curly brackets (e.g. {CLIENT}) need to be left intact and cannot be translated. These are Placeholders that automatically populate the correct term, which can be found in the "Roles" group. Attempting to translate these Placeholders will break them.

Navigate to Flyout Menu > Translations (beta).

You'll first need to enable translation functionality.

Before translating strings and/or choose a Language Set, it's important to learn how the Translations Toolkit works. Read about it in the sections below.


How do I find and change words/phrases?

In the Translation Filter section, you'll see a search field. Type the word or phrase you are looking for. The results will be organized into Groups, shown as tabs to the left of the screen.

TIP: It's very helpful to click the Hide Empty Groups check box. This will hide all of the Groups in which your targeted phrase does not appear, thus making it easier to find.

Then, you can click through the Groups and modify the targeted word/phrase as needed.

Type the translation or alternative word/phrase in the field below the original, then click the  Save Group button at the bottom of the page.

To the right of each field is a padlock icon. By default, all fields will be unlocked. If you would like to keep a translated string even after applying a Language Set, you can click the icon to lock the field. Click the icon beside the Group Translations text to lock the entire section.

As a general rule, you should always click the Clear Cache button near the top of the page once you are finished with your changes. This will ensure that the changes you have made will appear in the platform for all users.


How can I access Language Sets and Additional Settings?

When you enable Translations, tabs will appear on the right side of the screen.

Click the icon shown above to choose from  Language Sets you can use.

You can use the Search field to find the particular language that you would like to use.

Then, click the  Load button beside the desired language. This will apply the language translation to your platform, and will overwrite any strings that are not protected by the locked padlock icon.

Click the tab shown above to enable or disable Multi-Language Support.

Once your Translations have been configured, you can use this option to display a choice between the default fresh-out-of-the-package English text, or your customized text to all users in the platform.

When your user logs in, they can go to  Flyout Menu > My Profile/Settings, or they can click Edit Profile in the main menu.

At the bottom of the  Basic Info section, there will be a Translation dropdown menu in which they can choose from the default or configured setting.

Click the tab below to read tips for using the Translations module.


How do I translate the Menu Items?

In general, the Menu Items are a special case and cannot be changed via the Translations tool. You'll need to use  Custom Menus to change them.

CLICK HERE to learn about Custom Menus

The one exception to this is the Pages menu item. What you can change in Custom Menus is actually only what Staff/Internals see, and not what Contacts/Externals see.

To change the name of the Contacts/External Page menu item, type "pages" in the search field and click the Pages Group. The correct field to edit is shown below.


How do I reset my Translation configurations to Default?

If you need to wipe clean your configured Translations, you can do this by clicking the Reset to Default button near the top of the screen.

This will permanently remove any changes you have made and revert it back to the default, out-of-the-box text throughout the platform.

IMPORTANT: This option cannot be undone. Once this action has been taken, you will be unable to recover any work you have put into your Translations, so please use with caution!

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us