FILES: File Transfer

What is File Transfer?

File Transfer allows you to send a file or set of files to someone via a secure download link. You can protect the file(s) with password protection, a limited number of downloads, and expiration after a certain time frame.

Since the transfer takes place outside of the platform, the recipient is not required to even have an account. This feature is perfect for sending large and/or sensitive documents, especially to non-tech savvy customers.

The file or collection of files is sent as a Package, which acts as a container. You can send documents, images, videos, or any other type of file within a Package.


How do I Transfer Files?

Navigate to the Files menu item.

Click the Transfer Files button at the top of the screen.

To get started, you'll first need to create a Package. This will begin a wizard which will guide you through the steps of the process. As long as the Package has not yet been sent, you can click the tabs at the top of the modal and complete the sections in any order. You can also click Cancel located in the bottom left-hand corner, if you would like to exit the wizard.

Click the Create New Package button.

Package Title: Choose a name for the Package. This name will be visible to the recipient.

Select Users: You can choose from any type of user in the platform (Contact or Staff), or can also enter an email address that is not registered into the account.

You'll be able to choose from files that are already uploaded into the platform. Check the boxes beside each file you would like to include in the Package. You can click on Folders to open them. To search for a specific file, you can type into the Search Files field at the top.

When your recipient receives their email link, they will be given a unique 6-digit code to access their File Package. You can add extra layers of security with these settings.

By default, the Package will remain available once created. However you can choose to limit the number of downloads permitted by each recipient(s), or choose a number of days that the link is still valid. Once these limits have been reached, a message will be displayed stating that the Package has expired if access it attempted.

You can also choose to password-protect the Package. You can combine these security settings as you'd like.

If you'd like to notify a user(s) when the Package is downloaded, you can choose from a Staff Member or Team from the Select Users dropdown menu.

You can leave the message as the default text, or you can modify it with the WYSIWYG editor. You can change the default message that populates in Email Templates.

CLICK HERE to learn about Email Templates

I prefer to send the link myself: If you click this option, the link will NOT be sent. Instead, you will be provided with the download link in the next screen.

Please note that this method will bypass the secure 6-digit code prompt, and will instead go directly to the download interface. Any extra security options you have applied will still be applicable.

IMPORTANT: Be sure to include the {{fileDeliveryLink}} and {{sixCode}} placeholders in the message, as these are required to generate the download link and required 6-digit code.

You'll see a success message once the File Transfer has been activated. If you clicked I prefer to send the link myself, you will also be provided with the download link as shown above.


What does the recipient see?

You you send the File Transfer, the recipient will receive an email containing the download link, as well as a 6-digit code they will need to use to access the Package.

Clicking this link will bring them to a page featuring your logo at the top, with a prompt for the 6-digit code.

The user can type in the code, or simply copy the code and paste it into the first input field, which will automatically fill in the remaining fields.

After inputting the code (and password if applied during creation of the File Transfer), the user will be directed to a download interface page. Clicking the Download button will download the file, or if multiple files are included in the package, it will be downloaded as a ZIP file.

Once the link has expired, or if the number of downloads has been reached, accessing the download page will result in an message that the Package has expired.


How do I manage File Transfer Packages?

In your Files list, you will have a special Folder named File Transfers. Click this folder to access any File Transfers you have created.

You'll be able to see at-a-glance when the File Transfer was sent, how many items are included in the Package, and the deadline set to access it, if applicable.

You can also see how many times the download page has been viewed, and how many times the files were downloaded.

Click the name of the Package to see the files inside. You can then download them from that screen.

For more options to interact with the Package, click the chevron-square-down dropdown menu.

Download: Download the Package locally.

Resend Email: Selecting this option will allow you to resend the email notification containing the download link. You also will be able to modify the message that is sent.

Copy Share Link: Clicking this option will automatically copy the direct link to the file download interface. This link bypasses the 6-digit code prompt.

Delete: Remove the Package from the platform. Users will no longer have access to the Package from the download link. The file(s) inside the Package folder will also be deleted.


How do I change the URL for the File Transfer page?

By default, the keyword in your Friendly URL will be home.

If you'd like to change it, navigate to Files.

Click the icon located in the top righthand corner of the screen.

At the bottom of the modal, you'll be able to change your Friendly URL for the page that your users are linked to for downloading files.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us