MESSAGING: Secure Messaging
What is Secure Messaging?
It's important to understand that standard email is not secure. Email messages can be intercepted or can be read/accessed by someone with access to a shared computer.
The solution is a Secure Messaging platform that lets you send and receive messages with your Clients or Staff, but in a secure way. You may have experienced this kind of system with either your bank or your doctor/hospital.
How does the Client/Staff see Messaging?
Your Clients/Staff, will also have the Messaging Toolkit available to them when they login to your Portal, so they will be able to read, reply, and initiate messages.
By default, when you send a Message, the recipient(s) will receive an email notification to let them know that they have received a message, but the contents of your typed message will NOT be included in the notification. The recipient will need to log into the platform in order to read the actual message.
By not including the message in the email notification, the contents of the message stay secure - and only the Client who is able to log in with their unique username/password will be able to view that message.
There is a setting that you can enable that will override this behavior, and include the content of the message in the email notification.
To enable Convenience Mode, navigate to Flyout Menu > Company Profile/Settings.
In the General Settings section, there is a toggle to turn Convenience Mode on.
When this feature is enabled, your recipient will be able to simply reply to the email notification and send a message back via email. Their response will be read by the platform and inserted into the appropriate Secure Messaging thread.
How do I use Secure Messaging?
By default, you'll find the Messaging tab in your primary menu.
From here, you will be able to select which users you would like to send a message to, fill out your message subject and body, and optionally select a Canned Response.
CLICK HERE to learn more about Canned Responses
When selecting who to send a Message to, you will have the option to select Individual users as well as entire Circles. If a Circle is selected, a message will be sent to every user that is assigned to that Circle.
What does the Recipient see?
What the Client and your Staff sees is dependent on which mode you're operating in.
In Secure mode, the content of the message is NOT included, and all that is received in the notification is the message that a message has been sent.
The recipient will need to log into the platform in order to read their message.
In this Convenience mode, the content of your messages will be included in the email notification.
In this mode, your Clients/Staff can simply reply to this email notification directly in their email client, type their message, and send as normal (without logging to the platform).
Their message will be received by the platform, and organized into the correct thread. The original sender will receive an email notification (with content) when the reply is received and filed by the platform.
While in Messaging, you can can use Keyboard Shortcuts. You can view a reference window at any time by clicking the icon.
You can also open the reference window with the shortcut CTRL + /.