PROJECTS: Project Settings
How do I manage my Project Settings?
You can adjust the various Default Settings related to Projects and Tasks by navigating to Projects > Settings.
This section of Project Settings is only visible to the Super Admin and Admin(s). It features additional visibility and notification settings, along with a setting for default Project currency (which will be applied to any new Project you create).
Global Project Settings
Project Visibility Settings
View all Projects: You can choose to allow all Admins and/or Project Managers to access all Projects from the platform. Unchecking these options will revoke access.
Archived Projects: Checking this box will give your Client an "Archived Projects" tab in which they can see their Archived Projects.
Project Progress: You can choose to hide the Project Progress (the pie chart) information from your Clients and/or Clients.
See all tasks: Checking this box will allow all assigned Project Users to see all of the Tasks associated with this Project.
See Project Notes: Toggling this option will allow your Clients to view Notes in their Projects (Project Public Notes).
Create Project Notes: This option will only be visible when you have toggled 'Allow Client to view Project Notes'. If clients can see Project Notes you can also give them the ability to create Notes.
You can choose to calculate the Project progress based on the percentage of COMPLETE tasks.
Or it can be calculated based on Project Phases. This option allows the percentage to be automatically or manually calculated.
The last option allows you to show the Project progress using a manual slide that you can set.
Task Visibility Settings
By default, Completed Tasks are hidden from view throughout the platform (All Tasks, My Tasks, inside a Project). You can choose to be able to view all Tasks, even those marked as Complete.
If you will not be assigning Tasks to Clients you can disable the My Tasks Menu Item as well as the Tasks tab inside of their Project.
By default, Clients can create their own Tasks outside of a Project for their own reference. Checking this will prevent them from doing so.
By default, Clients have access to the Kanban View for Projects. If you would like to disable this, you can check the box in this section.
Task Approval Settings
Here you can choose which Staff Member or Teams will receive notification emails when the Client chooses to Approve or Reject a Task.
Project Reminder Settings
From this menu you can choose to send Reminder Emails for your Projects. Every user in your platform environment will have these notification settings and can customize them individually.
Default Project Currency
Choose what the Currency will default to when creating an Invoice related to a Project.
CLICK HERE to learn how to add your Currency
Here you can choose to update the status of the Project/Tasks based on what has been marked as Complete.
You can also choose to allow Teammates and/or Freelancers the ability to see Task Automations. Please note that selecting this setting gives those roles access to the list of available Automations which could allow them to view info that doesn't fall under their usual role permissions. This setting can also be updated in each individual Project.
From this menu, you can adjust your individual email notification settings related to your assigned Projects and Tasks. Every user in your platform environment will have these notification settings and can customize them individually.
CLICK HERE to learn more about Project Notification Settings
Digest and Outlook emails are automated scheduled emails that will give you a brief overview of the movement and actions inside your Projects and Tasks. You can figure these notifications to be sent daily or weekly.
Digest Emails: An overview of occurrences that have already happened. You will be able to select which types of occurrences if enabled.
Outlook Emails: An overview of upcoming Project and Task due dates.
Select Update All Settings to save, or select Update Staff/Contacts Settings to configure settings based on each individual Role. A modal will appear in which you can select a Role from the dropdown menu.
By default, the new settings will only be applied to new users and will not be retroactively applied.
If you enable Override existing settings, the new settings will be applied to all users with the specified Role.
Project Dashboard Settings
Personalize to Your Client: You can choose to display a Welcome Message that will appear on your Client's Project Dashboard, as well as an additional message.
Project Progress: If you choose to display Project Progress to the Client, a Pie Chart showing a completion percentage will appear on their Project Dashboard. You can configure the value of this Pie Chart to automatically calculate the progress using the percentage of Tasks marked Complete or by Project Phases, or you can set it manually using a slider.
You can also choose whether or not to display the current Project Status to the Client.
CLICK HERE to learn more about the Project Dashboard
Work Request Setup
General Work Request Settings
Here you can choose whether or not your Clients will see the Work Request tab. If disabled, they will not be able to submit Work Requests. You can also choose to remove the requirement to include Items to submitted Work Requests. If this option is selected, Clients will have to complete a Reference Name for the Work Request, as well as an optional Description and Due Date.
You can allow Clients to choose from their existing Projects rather than requiring them to submit a new one.
When you convert a Work Request, by default it will stay "Open" until all conversion options have been exhausted. You can choose instead to set the status to "Closed" when converted to either a Project or Estimate/Invoice.
Tasks created while converting a Work Request will be in "Open" status by default. You can choose to set them in a different Status.
Work Request Type and Notification Settings
With these settings, you can select either an Itemized or Free Form type of Work Request. Itemized Work Requests have a predefined set of items that need to be selected from a list. Free Form Work Requests allow the Client to freely type what they are requesting.
Here you can also choose who will receive an e-mail notification when a Work Request is submitted.
CLICK HERE to learn more about Work Request Settings
Work Request Items
From this menu, you can create Work Request Items that will be used for Work Request creations. Deleted items are not retroactive, meaning any Work Requests made previously to deletion that contained the Item will be unaffected.
Clicking Add Work Request Item will bring up a window, in which you can specify a name and price. You can optionally include a description.
You can also Assign Circle(s) to the Work Request Item.
By default, all Clients who are permissioned to create Work Requests are able to choose from any Work Request Item that is created. If you assign a Circle, then only the members of that Circle will be able to see and choose that Item for their Work Request.
Here you can create Business Sectors. A Business Sector is a classification system that you can customize and assign to each Project based on your needs.
If you were a CPA Firm, you may have some projects that fall into the Payroll sector, others that involve Tax Returns, and others related to Corporate Bookkeeping. In this example, each of those might be a Business Sector.
As of now, Business Sectors are used only for organizing your Projects in this way. In the near future, they will be used by our upcoming Reporting Toolkit to help you analyze how much value each Business Sector is bringing to your business or organization.
Clicking +Business Sector will bring up a window, in which you can specify a name. Optionally you can add a Description, and assign multiple Projects via a dropdown menu.