PROJECT: Managing Tasks
To manage tasks within an existing Project, simply navigate to Projects, and select “Manage” from the Options drop-down for the particular Project. Also, you can simply click the row containing the desired Project in the table.
Either method will take you to a separate dashboard for the Project. From here you will be able to manage tasks, upload files, and communicate with the client and your team.
To manage Tasks within a Project, you will want to navigate to the “Tasks” tab on the Manage Project Dashboard. This will bring you to a new page, where you can view and manage existing tasks, as well as create new tasks.
When creating a new Task, you will have several fields to fill out.
Use this field to assign the desired user to the Task. Only users who are assigned to the Project itself will be displayed in this field, and only certain user roles. Tasks can only be assigned to Clients, Teammates, Salespersons, Freelancers, Project Managers, Admins, and the Master Account. Tasks cannot be assigned to Leads, Prospects, or Office Managers. If you choose to assign a Task to a Client, an additional checkbox for "Require Client Approval?" will appear next to the Assign box.
This will be the name of the Task, which will be displayed in various places throughout the installation. All users who are able to view a Task will be able to see the title.
This is the amount of time (in hours, rounded to the nearest 1 decimal point) that you anticipate the Task will take to complete. This can be modified after the Task is created, and it used as a data point in tracking the size and scope of a Project.
This is the amount of time (in hours, rounded to the nearest 1 decimal point) that was actually spent completing a Task. This can be modified after the Task is created, and it used as a data point in tracking the amount of labor that went into a Project.
This will be the description of the Task, which will be displayed in various places throughout the installation. All users who are able to view a Task will be able to see the description.
Tags can be custom text labels that you can use to organize your Tasks. You can add multiple Tags to a Task by separating them using commas. Once a Tag has been created, it can be used in the filters of the Task list to easily locate the desired Tasks.
Use this field to set the desired priority for the Task. By default, the priority will be set to “Normal”, with the option to change to “Low”, “High”, or “Urgent” as you deem appropriate. The selected priority will determine what color the Task is tagged with in the Tasks table, as well as affect sorting of the Tasks using filters. All users who are able to view a Task will be able to see the priority. Additionally, you can create your own custom Task priorities from the menu at Settings–>Content–>Categories : DOCUMENTATION
Use this field to optionally set a Type for the Task, allowing you to essentially categorize Tasks based on your needs. Task Types can be searched in the filters of the main Tasks table. Additionally, you can create your own custom Task types from the menu at Settings–>Content–>Categories : DOCUMENTATION
Use this field to convey the Status of the Task, which by default is set to “Open”. You can change the Status manually (to “Working”, for example), and additionally certain actions you take will automatically change the Status (such as marking a Task as “Complete”).
Use this field to optionally assign the Task to a pre-existing Phase. You can find more information regarding Phases elsewhere in this documentation.
If a user is set as a Follower on a Task, they will receive all of the normal email notifications related to the Task, as well as be able to view the Task when viewing a Project, but they will not technically be the “Assignee” of the Task. Additionally, the Task will not appear in their MyTasks list.
Use this field to communicate a desired due date for the Task. For whomever the Task is assigned to, this due date will act as their “goal post” for when to have the Task completed. All users who are able to view a Task will be able to see the due date.
When setting the due date for a Task, you also have the option to set the Task to be recurring, by clicking the “Set as recurring task” link below the Due Date field. This will open an additional set of fields, which you can use to set how often the Task recurs, for how long, and when it starts. Once saved, the initial Task will be created, and then new Tasks will be created based on the recurring schedule you set.
If you would like to break down a Task into smaller, more manageable segments, you can create Subtasks from the main Task “View” menu. This feature allows you to divide the portions of a Task into smaller segments, helping the assigned user to more effectively manage their time and assigned work. Essentially, the main Task becomes the “parent” of it’s Subtasks. Creating a new Subtask is similar to creating a “to-do list” for the main Task, where each Subtask is essentially a simple text field. You can add multiple Subtasks at once from the “View” option in the main Task. Once a Subtask is created, it will appear in a list on the main Task view, and you can mark the Subtask as “complete” by simply checking the box. You can also drag-n-drop Subtasks to rearrange their order within this Task view page.
Once a Task is created, you can perform various actions on it using the “Options” dropdown boxes from the main Tasks table, and from the “View” option.
Viewing a Task allows you to get a quick look at it’s details in this pane, including the assigned user, due date, etc. You can use this option when you simply want to verify a detail about a Task.
Editing a Task allows you to modify all of the original Task settings and details, including it’s name, description, assigned user, due date, priority, and assigned Phase. Additionally, the Status of the Task can be edited.
Completing a Task will change it’s status to “Completed”, and will remove it from the normal Task list view. The status of a Task can be changed at any time, even after being marked complete, so this action can be undone if performed by mistake.
Use this option to quickly and easily create a new Task that is a copy of the existing Task. When Duplicate is selected, the Add New Task form will open, with all of the fields already filled out based on the existing Task (with the one exception being the Title, which will have “Copy Of” in front of the Task name). You can modify any of the fields/parameters (including the assigned user), and then click Add to easily create a new Task.
If you would like to upload files specifically for a Task, this can be done using the “Manage Files” option. This will open a side-pane displaying any previously uploaded files, as well as large upload button that can be used to upload new files to the Task. Files that are uploaded from this page will automatically be accessible to the assignee of the Task itself. These files will also be visible (to the user who is assigned to the Task) from the main “Files” dashboard.
Deleting a Task will completely remove it from the app. There is no undo for this action, so you will want to make absolutely certain you want to delete a Task before confirming this action.
With each Task, you have the option to convert the Task to an Invoice Item, in a similar manner to converting Timers to Invoice Items. When you select the “Invoice” dropdown option for a Task, you will be presented with several options for adding the Task as an Item to either a New Invoice, Existing Invoice, New Accumulating Profile, or Existing Accumulating Profile.
Once you make your selection, you will be automatically taken to the edit Invoice/Profile page, where you can set the desired rate and quantity for the newly added Items.