BILLING: Estimates

How does an Estimate work?

An Estimate is basically a draft of an Invoice. You send your Client an Estimate for Approval. If they accept, it will automatically convert into an Invoice.


How do I create an Estimate?

To get started, navigate to Billing > Estimates. Click the +Add Estimate button.

Fill out the fields to to produce your Estimate.

Choose who you will Assign the Estimate to through the dropdown menu. You can select multiple users. You can also duplicate the Estimate for multiple Contacts. If this box is checked, you will be prompted to Assign the Estimate to a Circle in addition to the User(s) you have selected. Like individual Users, you can select multiple Circles.

You are required to give the Estimate a Title. Note: Your Client will not be able to see the Title of the Estimate; it is for Staff reference only. You will also need to specify a date that the Estimate is valid through. Like the Title, Internal Notes cannot be seen by the Client.

If the Estimate is not approved before the "Valid To" date it will expire. To resend your expired Estimate, you must first update the "Valid To" date.

You can add the Items to be billed, as well as apply Discounts or Taxes. Select pre-made components from the respective dropdown menus, or you can create new ones to add. A Summary module will update in real-time as you make your selections.

CLICK HERE to learn more about Items, Discounts and Taxes

Choose the Currency that your Estimate will appear in. You can also allow a Partial Payment to be made. This will be applied when the Estimate is converted into an Invoice.

Choose your Payment Gateway. You can select multiple Gateways that you have created. You must set up a Gateway before it can be applied to an Invoice or Estimate.

CLICK HERE to learn more about Payment Gateways

The Estimate Number will be auto-generated in the field, or you can rename it to anything you'd like. You can send a notification to the Client when an Estimate is Approved (with an auto-generated Invoice attached), and when the Estimate is created and in Open Status.

You can fill in Terms & Conditions and any additional Notes that will be visible to your Client on the Estimate. If you have entered text for these areas in the Estimate Settings, they will auto fill here.

CLICK HERE to learn more about Estimate Settings

Once you are finished creating your Estimate, you can either Save as Open or Save as Draft. Saving the Estimate as Open will make it active; it will appear under Billing > Estimates for the Client(s) that it has been assigned to. Saving it as a Draft will save the creation process but will not be visible to the Client yet.


Can I further customize my Estimate?

Yes! You can add your logo, add a default Prefix and other customizations to your Estimate.

CLICK HERE for more information on Estimate Settings


What happens next?

Your Client will be able to access the Estimate by navigating to Billing > Estimates. They can either View or Approve the Estimate.

Clicking on the Estimate row will bring up an image of the completed Estimate. From here, they can click the Approve button at the top. Alternatively, they can click the Options dropdown menu and select either View or Approve Estimate.

Once Approved, the Estimate will automatically convert into an Invoice and will be listed under Billing > Invoice. They will now have the option to make payment, just as any other Invoice.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us