FILES: Sharing Files with Clients & Prospects

How do I share files with a Prospect or Client?

When it comes to the File Sharing toolkit, any Contact that is able to login to the platform is referred to as a Client. This includes both external users with the role of Prospect or Client. The major difference between the two roles when it comes to File Sharing is that Contacts with a Prospect role are not able to view or be assigned to Projects or Project Files.
If you want to share files with an individual  Client directly, you can do this easily by navigating to that Client's specific  Shared with Client folder.

By default, every time you create a new Client, a folder will be created for them in the Client Files folder.
To get started, navigate to Files and then click on the Client Files folder.

From inside the Client Files folder, you'll see a folder for each Prospect or Client you have created in your account.

From there, click the Client's folder to enter.

Inside that folder, you will find three folders created by default, Private Files, Shared with Client and Uploaded by Client

What's the difference between these 3 folders?

In general, these folders act in just the way that they are described.

Private Files

The  Client/Prospect cannot even see the private files folder and they do not know that it exists. When you upload files inside the private files folder, the Client/Prospect does not see these files. Typically, this folder will be used for documents that are related to the Client/Prospect but are private to your internal team only.

Shared with Client/Prospect

Files in this folder will ABSOLUTELY be seen by the Client/Prospect. Anything you put in this folder, or any sub-folders that you create WILL BE seen by the Client. When you upload files in these areas, the Client/Prospect WILL receive an email notification unless you specifically have instructed the platform to not send an email notification.

Uploaded by Client

In this folder, you'll find files that the Client/Prospect has uploaded to you from their Files > Upload Files area. An email notification will be sent when a Client/Prospect uploads to this folder.

You can designate who will receive these email notifications by opening the Files > Settings area.

Can I create nested folders & sub-folders inside these folders?

Yes, definitely. you are able to create any number of nested folders or sub-folders that you need to organize your files.

What does a Client see?

The Client will have access to see the files shared with them via the Shared with me folder.

Clients will also have access to files that are uploaded/shared inside their Projects in the Projects folder.

You can control what a Client is able to do with relation to Files from the Files > Settings area.

and then scroll to the bottom:

What does a Prospect see?

A Prospect will have access to see the files shared with them via the Shared with me folder.

Because Prospects are not able to view or be assigned to Projects, they will not have a Projects folder

You can control what a Prospect is able to do with relation to Files from the Files > Settings area.

and then scroll to the bottom:

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us