CONTRACTS: Creating and Managing Contracts

What is a Contract?

A Contract is a written agreement between you and the Contact. Instead of having to print it, however, it can be viewed inside of the platform and digitally eSigned.

Contracts can currently be created to only be signed by the Contact, or to be signed by both the Contract and a Staff Member.

During creation it can be assigned directly to a Contact, or you can apply it to an Invoice, Estimate or Project. to generate corresponding data from those modules.

You can also enable the ability for the user to sign the Contract without having to be logged in, and even before a new Prospect or Client is invited into the platform! More information further below.


How do I create a Contract?

In order to create a Contract, you must first build a Contract Template to generate it from. A Contract Template is an unassigned Contract in which you draft its contents. If you want to apply the Contract to an Invoice, Estimate or Project, you'll need to have those made too.

CLICK HERE to learn how to create a Contract Template

Once you have your Contract Template built, navigate to Billing > Contracts, and click the +Add Contract button.

Give your Contract a  Title. This Title will be visible to the Contact it is assigned to.

You can choose whether you would like to apply the Contract to an Invoice, Estimate, Proposal, Project, or Contact. This determines the information that the Dynamic Data Placeholders used in the Contract Template will generate. 

CLICK HERE to learn about Dynamic Data Placeholders

TIP: Any option you choose will pull the information for the associated (Primary) Client. The options in addition to Contacts are for additional data needed for the Contract. For example, if you Contract references a Project, you would want to choose "Projects" so that it knows which Project to generate the data from.

Click the +Add New Line button to add additional Contracts. Each Line has its own set of fields, so you can make as many unique Contracts as you wish.

Once you are finished, click the Generate Contract(s) button. The Contract(s) will generate and will now be assigned to the appropriate user(s).


How do I let my users sign Contracts without having to log in?

By default, users (both Contacts and Staff) must log into the platform to sign a Contract. However, you can enabled a "non-logged" mode so that your users can be linked directly to the Contract without having to log in.

Navigate to Billing > Settings, then click the Contracts tab.

CLICK HERE to learn about Contract Settings

Scroll to the bottom of this page to the Security Settings section.

Enable the option to allow Contracts to be signed without the requirement to log in.

You can also set the link to expire after a certain number of clicks and/or days.

When enabled, the link that is sent to the Contact will not require login.
In addition, you'll see a new Copy Contract Link option in the Options dropdown menu for a Contract that is "Out for Signature".

Click this option to copy the link to your clipboard. You can then send the link directly via Secure Messaging or any method outside of the platform.

IMPORTANT: By enabling this setting, you acknowledge that HIPAA compliance cannot be guaranteed. If you are working with sensitive information that is required by law to be privacy compliant, you should NOT enable this setting.

TIP: If you enable this setting and assign a Contract to a Prospect or Client in "Not Invited" status, they will still receive the notification email and will be able to sign the Contract. This is useful if you require that a Contract be signed before a user is invited to register into the platform.


What does the Contact see?

The assigned Contact will receive an Email Notification informing them of a Contract that requires their signature. You can change the default text that appears in this message in Email Templates.

This text will differ depending on whether or not you have enabled the ability to sign a Contract without logging in.

CLICK HERE to learn about Email Templates

When the Contact clicks the link, they will be prompted to log in and will immediately be redirected to the Contract.

If the ability to sign a Contract without logging in is enabled, this message will not ask them to log in and will instead link them directly to the Contract.

A Notification will also appear in the Contact's Notification Center while logged in.

CLICK HERE to learn about the Notification Center

Clicking on the Notification will direct them to the Contract as well.

The Contract will be displayed along with a View/Print PDF button. This can be used before or after it is signed.

Any Signer Placeholders you have implemented will appear as clickable fields. The Contact will only be able to interact with Signers that are assigned to them.

When clicked, a Signature field will open a modal in which the Contact can choose to type out their name which automatically fills in the Sign ePad. Or, they can type their name, and draw their signature separately.

Some fields, such as for the Signing Date, will populate automatically after a Signature is added to the Contract by that user.

This process is similar for Staff Members when an Organization Signature is required. The email notification they receive is separate for Internals, and can also be customized in Email Templates.

Email Notifications will be sent to the assigned users when it receives a signature, and when it is fully signed.

Both the Notification Email(s) and the PDF version of the Contract will include the IP Addresses of each signee.


How do I Void or Delete a Contract?

You can manage your Contracts at any time by navigating to Billing > Contracts.

Click the Options dropdown menu for a Contract to either View or Mark as Void. If you mark a Contract as Void, it will be removed from the Contact's account and will no longer be valid. The voided Contract will remain in the list for future reference.

IMPORTANT: Once you Void a Contract, it cannot be reversed. You will need to generate a new Contract if you would like to restore it.

Once a Contract has been marked as Void, you can click the Options dropdown menu to Delete it. Note: This cannot be undone.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us